You need cookies enabled


You need cookies enabled

Institutions funded in the first round

64 institutions across England each received up to £50,000 of HEFCE Catalyst Funding for a range of projects. The projects are being monitored for 12 months from February 2017.

Projects were selected across a range of themes and criteria, based on their ability to:

  • develop the ‘bystander’ initiative, which trains staff and students in preventing or reducing violence against women and hate crimes, particularly among students
  • develop projects, systems improvements, training packages and partnership working models to drive real change in this area
  • deliver key activities and partnerships with students’ unions
  • develop excellent transferable good practice for the benefit of students and institutions across higher education.

The institutions that received funding are:

  • University of Bath
  • University of Birmingham
  • Blackburn College
  • Blackpool and the Fylde College
  • Bournemouth and Poole College
  • University of Bristol
  • Brunel University London
  • Buckinghamshire New University
  • Bury College
  • University of Cambridge
  • Canterbury Christ Church University
  • University of Chester
  • University of Chichester
  • Cleveland College of Art and Design
  • Coventry University
  • De Montfort University
  • University of Derby
  • University of East Anglia
  • University of Exeter
  • University of Gloucestershire
  • Goldsmiths, University of London
  • Havering College of Further and Higher Education
  • University of Hull
  • Imperial College London
  • University of Keele
  • University of Kent
  • King's College London
  • Kingston University
  • University of Lancaster
  • Leeds Beckett University
  • Leeds City College
  • University of Leicester
  • University of Lincoln
  • Lincoln College
  • University of Liverpool
  • Liverpool John Moores University
  • London School of Economics and Political Science
  • London South Bank University
  • Loughborough University
  • Manchester Metropolitan University
  • Middlesex University
  • University of Northampton
  • Nottingham Trent University
  • Open University
  • Oxford Brookes University
  • University of Portsmouth
  • Queen Mary, University of London
  • Roehampton University
  • University of Sheffield
  • Sheffield Hallam University
  • St George's, University of London
  • University of Sunderland
  • Teesside University
  • University College London
  • Walsall College
  • University of Warwick
  • University of the West of England
  • West Nottinghamshire College
  • University of Westminster
  • Wirral Metropolitan College
  • University of Worcester
  • University of York
  • York St John University

Find out which institutions were funded in the second round


Page last updated 13 October 2017

Enquiries should be directed to: