You need cookies enabled


You need cookies enabled

Institution-specific funding 

The deadline to respond to the consultation on a proposed approach to institution-specific funding is 1700 on Monday 29 February.

Twenty five higher education institutions (HEIs) receive institution-specific funding. This funding comes on top of standard funding from HEFCE for education, research and other activities, and recognises the cost and distinctive nature of their provision and the public value they bring.

Review of funding allocations

A fundamental review of this stream of funding is taking place in 2015-16. This is to ensure that the funding goes to support and enhance specialist institutions where they are providing world-leading teaching.  

As part of the review, institutions have provided evidence about how concentrated their provision is, their higher costs and have also described their world-leading teaching outputs. See the approach for this review.

Respond to the consultation on a proposed funding approach

We are now inviting comments on a proposed funding approach for generating these allocations in 2016-17. The HEFCE Board will consider the outcome of this consultation and recommendations from the review in spring 2016.

To respond to the consultation, fill in Annex A of the consultation document below and email it to by 1700 on Monday 29 February.

Funded institutions

Of the 25 institutions that currently receive this funding, 13 are leaders in the performing arts, visual arts or design, while others specialise in agriculture and health.

This funding amounts to approximately £60 million per year. 

The HEIs which currently receive specialist funding are:

  • Conservatoire for Dance and Drama
  • Courtauld Institute of Art
  • Cranfield University
  • Falmouth University
  • Harper Adams University College
  • Institute of Cancer Research
  • Institute of Education
  • Liverpool Institute of Performing Arts
  • London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine
  • Ravensbourne College
  • Royal Academy of Music
  • Royal Agricultural University
  • Rose Bruford College
  • Royal Central School of Speech and Drama
  • Royal College of Art
  • Royal College of Music
  • Royal Northern College of Music
  • Royal Veterinary College
  • School of Oriental and African Studies
  • Trinity Laban Conservatoire of Dance and Drama
  • University of the Arts London
  • University College London
  • University of Cambridge
  • University of Oxford
  • University of London.


The decision to grant these 25 institutions institution-specific funding followed a consultation in 2012. Institutions were then invited to submit a case in July 2012.

Submissions were considered by an internal assessment team, with recommendations reviewed and then endorsed by an external panel.

The HEFCE Board agreed to award the extra funding and we told the institutions about the levels of funding in March 2013.

Page last updated 9 February 2016